The First Amendment won’t protect itself. Now more than ever we need people who are willing to fight for it and defend our rights. Every year FAC awards First Amendment champions who have made outstanding commitments to the advancement of free speech and government transparency.  

Past Winners

The Call for nominations for the 2019 Free Speech & Open Government opens August 31.  Qualifications for the award are outstanding accomplishment, service or other contributions to “the people’s right to know” about government.

The nonprofit newsroom ProPublica received FAC’s 2018 Free Speech & Open Government Award for its extensive use of public records to increase transparency around political appointees at the highest levels of government.

The 2017 Free Speech & Open Government Award went to Dave Maass and Jennifer Lynch of EFF and Peter Bibring of ACLU-SC, for their joint work to bring accountability and transparency to police use of automated license plate readers.

Winners this year are Thomas Peele, an investigative reporter who used public records requests to build a database of weapons lost by or stolen from CA police, and Carolyn Titus of the Ferndale Enterprise, who battled the County Fair Association over disclosure of financial records.

This year’s winners are the Monterey County Weekly and citizen activist Bill Branch. The first honored for upholding the finest traditions of community journalism and the second by demonstrating the effectiveness of citizen activism in holding officials accountable.

Sacramento Bee investigative reporter Charles Piller for investigative reporting, and Chris Murphy and Christina Selder, founders of  CARR (Consumer Advocates for Residential Care Facility Reform) for effective use of government data and the internet in advocacy work.